Flowers for “Brit Kern”

On Saturday morning I received this gorgeous bouquet of flowers as congratulations on our engagement. They were addressed to “Brit Kern,” so I assumed a grandmother sent them.

Turns out, they were just from someone who drives like one.

Shiela lives in Chicago now, but at one point in time, for six antic-filled months, we lived together. Both now approaching the big 3-0 (me just a tad faster), I’d like to think we have calmed down. These days, our friendship exists on phone calls with wine, a quick text, or even a nice quiet dinner when we are in the same city (made possible by Shiela’s “dual residency”).

As much as I miss those days, complete with diet coke & rum all-nighters, 4 a.m. tap dancing, and fake accents, it’s nice to know our friendship is making the trip to adulthood with us.

I wish I could say the truly memorable embarrassing moments lived solely in my memory, but sadly, the Internet totally existed in 2010. Pay attention, kids. This is what happens when you lock two girls in a room with rum, a full closet of clothes, and then tell them to be quiet.

“We’re going to Karma.”

Words cannot describe the hilarity of this night. However, if I find a moment sometime soon, I will most definitely try.

Speaking of Karma, I wonder if they do weddings?

Thank you so much for the beautiful flowers, Shiela. It was thoughtful and sweet. Nothing like how you are in real life.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.” – C.S. Lewis

- Brit AKA “Boots”

Now let's discuss...

