My favorite Faki(n’) soup

This post is for Miss Carly.

The following recipe for Greek Faki Soup was inspired and adapted from the one I’ve had a dozen times at The Mediterranean Grill. In the past, every time we ate there I would obsess over the one flavor I couldn’t figure out. Spoiler, it’s red wine vinegar!

To entice you to read further, this is how it turns out:

Ingredients

  • 1lb bag on lentils (rinsed!)
  • 2 small white onions or 1 large white onion
  • 2 or 3 carrots (diced)
  • 2 stalks of celery (diced)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • lemon wedges and chopped parsley for garnish

Ok, so this is where it gets mad easy. Saute the carrots, onion, and celery in a few tablespoons of olive oil (I use a lot because I LOVE olive oil and it adds flavor). After soft, add the garlic. Next, throw in the entire can of tomato paste. Let it coat the mirepoix. Fancy, I know.

Throw in the rinsed lentils, add 10 cups of water and bring to a boil. Finally, turn down the heat and let that sucker simmer for 90 minutes. With 10 minutes left, add the vinegar and stir it up.

Throw some Irish butter on a giant piece of sourdough bread and get to work!

We really love this soup and find ourselves making it all the time. To boot, it freezes really well and the ingredients are all on the cheap side. Win win, I say.

In other news, we had an awesome weekend that went by way too fast. Watched Super 8 – or what I like to call the modern day Goonies/E.T. mashup. I spent Saturday with one of my favorite ladies braving ill-fitted pants, see-through tops, and slurpin’ Noodles at… the mall (it wasn’t that bad actually). It was quite an adventure. Much tamer than the ones we had a decade ago, but oddly just as much, if not more, fun. We celebrated a good friend’s birthday in D.C. on Saturday night and I drank too much Sangria. Stuff sneaks up on you, man.

Today we were lazy and it was brilliant. Capped off the weekend by watching Enchanted next to the fire. My heart and belly are full to the brim. And still slightly hungover. Whatever this is, I truly am getting too old for it.

Good quality weekend with my boys. Zero complaints. 

"This is slightly embarrassing but I'll allow it."

One thought on “My favorite Faki(n’) soup

Now let's discuss...

