So, my mom made me wear my headgear to school…

When my brother and I were growing up our mother made us read all. the. time. Literature inspired slave driver, I am telling you. Over summer breaks she would insist we read (granted, books of our choosing) on top of the books required by school. Oh, and by insist, I mean “I will cut your fingernails  SO short if you don’t do what I say.”

1974

Worst fingernail cutter ever, ask anyone named Chase or Dane and shares my DNA.

Whilst on the topic of my mum, she sent me this picture the other day of my brother dressed in drag. Just kidding, but the resemblance is uncanny, am I right? I think they might be related.

In hindsight, I love that my mom was so diligent about us reading. Books have given me some of the most wonderful memories. Like when I completed my 8th grade final exams early, got to finish the 5th and final book of the Flowers in the Attic series, and promptly cried. While wearing headgear. At school. In front of everyone. I was also suffering a mild symmetry issue around the chest area in case you were trying to gauge how super cool and popular I was at 12 years old.

So, like not at all? Correct.

So this is what I am into these days:

I also recently read the first Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Hunger Games installments. Clearly I have a commitment issue because I can’t bring myself to move on to the second books.

Fall On Your Knees, so far, follows a turn of the century coal family in Canada over a couple of decades. Lots of tragedy, mystery, and a little incest (I feel compelled to mention the Flowers in the Attic series has tons of incest. So does The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo now that I think of it…).Ultimately, the writing is what has impressed me most about this book. She is a really amazing writer.

I am trying super hard to finish this by Sunday so I can cash in on my free Personal Pan at Pizza Hut. Book It reference, what!

“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr. Seuss

One thought on “So, my mom made me wear my headgear to school…

  1. Someone gave me this book a few years ago and I never picked it up. Think I was in the middle of another good read and forgot I had it. Time to dig it out and give it a try…thanks for the review and reminder 🙂

Now let's discuss...

