Trouble sleeping?

I have been known to do any and all of the following: talk in my sleep, awake suddenly confused as to my location, run around the room screaming things like “Who are you!?,” punch at invisible spiders and/or real people – even mistaking others for an intruder. I, for one, have been punched. I understand the unpleasantness.

In hindsight, I believe the stress and anxiety of real life finally started to cramp my mid-20’s slumber style. So naturally I got on WebMD and diagnosed myself (it’s sooooo easy, Mom!) with ‘night terrors’ and set out to fix it.

I cut out caffeine. I went to bed at least one hour before I wanted to actually sleep. I stopped all late-night snacking. No TV before bed. I purchased a noise machine (evidently) designed for infants. I was even fitted for a mouthguard to curb my TMJ producing clenching. Sigh. I tried the whole kit and kaboodle (whoa! Remember Kaboodles!?).

Anyway, it all of it kind of worked.

But nothing (outside of a prescription – this is an all natural blog, people) worked quite as well as THIS:

It goes by the name Truth Serum and it will knock you out. The lovely people at Voila even told me not to drive after drinking it. Yessss. My kind of tea.

Ever heard of Valerian root? Well!

Valerian root (Valeriana officinalis) is derived from a plant native to Europe and Asia. The root of this plant has been used for thousands of years as a remedy for various ailments including sleep problems, digestive problems, disorders of the nervous system, headaches, and arthritis.

Maybe it is all mental, you will say. All I know is I haven’t punched anyone in a long time. Neither in my sleep or from a lack of sleep.

And tea or no tea I still wear the CUTEST mouthguard to bed every night.

-Brit

One thought on “Trouble sleeping?

  1. Maybe you have Hypnagogia, that is what I’ve self diagnosed my restless sleeping as. I think the punching phantom spiders is what makes me think you and I share similar sleep issues. 🙂
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypnagogia

Now let's discuss...

