Two Thousand And Twelve

I had such an awesome New Years’ Eve. Completely epic.

**I have touched on my issues with ‘pressure holidays’ here on washthedog before so it should come as no surprise that this particular holiday can elicit some anxiety on my part.

But I came prepared this year! I put zero demands on myself to stay up late or make any drastic decisions for the coming year (more on this later). And most importantly, I reminded myself not to harp on any mistakes I made over the past 365 days. I think people can really beat themselves up on days like this, you know?

So this year, I made reservations at a fantastic restaurant for 8 of my closest friends, put 3 just-in-case bottles of champagne in my fridge, and set off to have a care-free night of fun in my hometown.

And then the craziest thing happened. We stayed up until 4 am (!!!) laughing, singing, dancing, and drinking champagne. I can honestly say I haven’t had more fun on New Years Eve, period. 

Oh, and something else happened last night. I got engaged.

(So for those of you keeping track, I’ve already broken 2 out of the 3 of my ‘rules’ for NYE: stayed up late, life altering decisions.)

I’m currently working on the long version of The Story of Brit and K so I will spare you for now, but long story short: he liked it – so he put a ring on it. A gorgeous, dazzling, shiny ring at that.

I think that boy knows me real well too (he better, right?). Because sharing the news of our engagement with friends and family on NYE took all the pressure off, letting us relax without the entire night revolving around us. Everyone was so celebratory already and we got to come in and blow the top off the joy quotient with our news. And that rocked.

I have the most supportive, awesome friends. Really, really I do. I didn’t expect such an outpouring of pure joy on their part and it made the entire night so special.

Then again, I also didn’t expect to meet such a wonderful man, who, for reasons I will never fully understand, thinks I’m pretty awesome too. Needless to say, I’ve been blinking and pinching myself a lot over the last 24 hours.

This year has been puh-retty cool. I had my first full calendar year at my job, became a first-time puppy-momma, moved out of my apartment and in with my fiancé (yea, that’s going to take some getting used to…), and got engaged. Whew.

I have such a warm, fuzzy, hopeful feeling about 2012. I really can’t wait to see what it brings.

“Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.” – Tell it, Oprah

3 thoughts on “Two Thousand And Twelve

  1. I love love love this. So much. You are wonderful, and this happenstance is wonderful! YAY! Brit is getting married! And what a great new years eve for the ages. All of this is making me smile. A lot!

Now let's discuss...

