Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Someone recently told me I am addicted to change and they just might be onto something. While it was originally intended as a playful jab briannorriswearswomensunderwear, I am taking it to a whole new level this year and working it to my advantage. For the change-addict, a new year is quite the enabler.

I got right here two lists with what I refer to as “hard” and “soft” goals. The hard list is because I know myself well enough to realize I need numbers to keep me honest. I appreciate the “Do ____ ONCE a day, or you have failed,” kind of mentality.

The soft goals are my “doing _____ will probably make me a happier person” resolutions, and they are just as important as far as I am concerned. I know you are reading this thinking, “Why do you have two lists if the hard and soft blah blah blah are just as important?” And I would say to you that I just need two lists! You don’t understand, you aren’t a list person.

My name is Brit and I am addicted to lists. And change. Oh, bugger.

Boy: ‘Bugger’ is a dirty word in England, you know.

Me: Bugger off.

Ahem. Hard Goals for 2012 include:

  1. Walking my dog at least three times a week. (Don’t call the animal police (?) [Wow, I have no idea who you call with an animal complaint…] I swear he gets at least 2 walks a day. I’m just not the one who does it. Save your judgement!)
  2. Read one book a month. (I love to read. For whatever reason I just don’t do it enough these days. Remember when you were in college and all you wanted in the world was to a read a book for fun? Well, I can’t afford to go back to school. I will have to inspire myself for free.)
  3. Publish at least 3 blog posts a week. (Actually thinking after work is not easy but it’s totally worth it. Everyone should have a creative outlet even if it isn’t a blog.)
  4. Learn to knit. (I have the tools: needles, yarn, and two hands! I just have zero clue what I’m doing. I can’t wait to make a ton of ugly Harry Potter scarves for all my friends and family. Let me know your house preference ASAP.)
  5. Travel (by plane) to at least two different destinations. (These must be non-work related. And one of them should be to Austin, TX. In March.)

Soft Goals for 2012

  1. Explore Asian cuisine. (I will be honest, it intimidates me.)
  2. Buy less crappy clothes. (I need to stop going to Target to satisfy my impulse shopping problem. I wish everyone, myself included, realized what crapshoots these kinds of places can be – for a handful of different reasons. One of which being that their clothes completely fall apart. I am approaching 30. I can buy nice clothes that last.)
  3. Take more pictures. (I still treat my DSLR like a disposable camera. Why get scared to take a picture? You can just delete them now. It is such a luxury and I really need to get over it.)
  4. Not get completely flustered with, eeep, planning a wedding. (I am a planner by nature but I’m more on a wine and cheese party level. This is way out of my comfort zone. I refuse to be stressed by such a fun and joyful occasion. Where is Jennifer Lopez when you need her?!)

2012 is going to be legen, wait for it, dary.

Even if I fail at all of the above.

When it is obvious that the goals cannot be reached, don’t adjust the goals, adjust the action steps. – Confucius

**Top of the Hancock Building, (Chicago, 2011) – I kind of almost threw up taking this picture.

One thought on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

  1. Pingback: Salt & Pepper Tofu | washthedog

Now let's discuss...

