Just me and the dawgs

I really like where I work and know how lucky I am to have such a cool job that I enjoy. Why wouldn’t I love it? I get to see my best friends everyday, meet interesting people, travel around the country, and learn all about how to be a better writer in the process (don’t proofread this post like a jerk now, please).

At my office we follow the modern and very hip practice known as Open Leave (no set amount of time off). When practiced correctly, this can be quite the perk. Like, for example, if you already took two weeks of vacation one year but then won a 10-day paid getaway to Jamaica on the radio, you could totally still go! They want you to enjoy coming to work and be able manage your own time. Wisely, preferably…

However, if you are like me – regimented, scheduled, and all-around uptight about work, then Open Leave can royally screw you.

I have been really bad about taking days off from work since I started almost two years ago.  Now, I am not saying I work harder than you do. Quite the opposite actually. Because I am generally grouchy, burned-out, and mad at myself all the time, my disposition during the work-week can be quite ungrateful, and thus counter-productive at times. But whose fault is that? MINE. All mine.

For 2012 I decided to take better advantage of this policy. I mean, do you have any idea what kind of vacation policies they have in Europe? Awesome ones. I aim to be chill and zen. Like the Europeans!

So when my pretty little horse-like Weimaraner, Rosie, came to stay with us for a week while my mom is in Arizona, I took it as a sign I should spend some quality time with her for the day. Purdy girl, huh?

Otherwise, I spent this gorgeous day reading, using nap time as a photo-op, and trying out a new smoothie recipe. By far, my favorite smoothie yet too (ingredients below).

This is Rosie’s (huge) bed. Washburne is just “keeping an eye on it.” Yes, that was a quote. Your dog doesn’t talk to you? Weird.

(1 cup spinach, 1 banana, 3/4 cup almond milk, tsp agave nectar, 1/2 cup rolled oats, and a handful of ice – BLEND THOROUGHLY)

I hope everyone had a nice Wednesday. The boy just got home and has surprised me with plans for a dinner date. Keeping it fresh, that man. Keepin’ it real fresh.

Back to the grind tomorrow and I don’t even mind.

Brit

Now let's discuss...

