Sodalicious

Puns, sigh. I tell myself I shouldn’t do it and I still do. I figure if one person laughs it’s worth it.

We woke up this morning feeling far less homicidal than last weekend (jet lag, daylight savings…). The weather was magical and we had zero plans to be any particular place an any given time. Weird how as you get older that becomes the ideal, isn’t it?

“What do you want to do today?”

“Get a puppy.”

“How about we make some bread?”

“Ok. I just saw a recipe for Irish Soda Bread I wanted to try…and it’s St. Patrick’s Day and all.”

Taking a quick look in the pantry we didn’t need much – butter (Irish, duh) and buttermilk (organic, glass bottle – you can’t go wrong).

On our way to the store we took a late-morning detour for lattes and a quick walk around downtown (while it was still quiet). So let’s get real for a second: People were drinking. At 10:30 a.m. I literally saw three intoxicated people swaying slowly down Carroll Creek, arm in arm. I know it’s gorgeous outside and St. Patrick’s Day is as good a day as any to partake in a little outdoor drinking…but seriously people, pace yourselves. Or don’t. The stories on Facebook are so much better that way.

Speaking of pacing oneself, I have had at least 3 pieces of aforementioned soda bread since it beckoned me fresh out of the oven not more than 2 hours ago.

A few notes:

  • I added cinnamon – maybe a 1/4 tsp. I thought what the heck, there are raisins in there. It worked.
  • If you have one, use a cast iron skillet. Make a round loaf shape with the dough and plop it down on a lightly greased skillet. I don’t know for sure but something about the pan getting super hot cooks the bread more evenly.
  • The recipe I used (link below) called for 4-4 1/2 cups of flour. Start with 4 and add more only if you really need it (we didn’t).
  • And most importantly, your dog, if anything like ours, will stop at nothing to eat some of the bread – lie, beg, and steal even. You will then probably painstakingly pick out each and every raisin from a piece of soda bread (dogs can’t have grapes FYI) so that you can give him what he wants, because you love him.
  • We are the best/worst dog parents ever.

And since we had all that buttermilk leftover we said “why not?” and made a whole wheat loaf too. It’s grainier and oddly more flavorful,so I was impressed with the outcome. I dare say (as the non-baking entity of the household) that a half wheat flour/half all purpose flour loaf would taste mighty good if you wanted something more down the middle.

We have tons of bread now. I bet some pb+j between two slices would do a hangover real good. Not that anyone will need that tomorrow or anything…

There are tons of recipes for Irish Soda Bread on the Interwebs, but this one (from Simply Recipes) is the one we happened to use.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

– O’Brit

One thought on “Sodalicious

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Quesadilla with Tomatillo Salsa | washthedog

Now let's discuss...

