Grilled Vegetable & White Bean Salad

The weather has been consistently warm for days now. Thus, my daily hope of good weather has morphed into full expectation that the temperature will be above 60 degrees each and every day from here on out. Yes, forever. It’s been real, polar bears.

And because I typed that cursed nonsense, I pre-emptively apologize for the mid-April blizzard I might have caused.

But while we’re here, enjoying the apocalyptic weather together, I thought I’d share a nice seasonal segue salad recipe. Hmm, seasonal segue. I might have to copyright that.

Anyway, during my last visit to Whole Foods I sampled something positively delicious from their salad bar (to which NO OTHER salad bar can be compared). So today, in between cups of tea, (more) Irish Soda Bread, and Steve introducing me to The Smiths, I tried my best – to straight up copy it.

It’s grilled. It’s lemony. It’s fresh. And it’s mad healthy. 

What you’ll need (in varying amounts depending on your ratio preference):

  • red peppers
  • carrots
  • eggplant (1/2 should be more than enough)
  • asparagus
  • onion
  • cherry tomatoes
  • zucchini
  • zucchini squash
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 cup parsley
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 clove chopped garlic

I tossed large chopped pieces of all the vegetables in olive oil and grilled them (grilling inside* the house is a long and arduous process, be warned) until I saw an acceptable amount of char.

* Acast-iron grill top for a gas stove is how I Bobby Flay indoors.

After the vegetables cooled but before tossing with the parsley, lemon, and beans, I cut all the veggies into more bite-sized pieces. Reason: Have you ever tried to grill bite-sized vegetables? Mess.

Not quite enough? Throw some brown rice in there too.

And there you have it. A seasonal segue salad. Maybe even the very first of its kind.

-Brit

Now let's discuss...

