Black Bean Quesadilla with Tomatillo Salsa

Steve was chomping at the bit for Mexican today, and in turn, I got inspired.

Admittedly, I don’t know a lot about cooking Mexican outside of the casual cheese quesadilla with jarred salsa, so I seized the opportunity to venture outside of my comfort zone. Ok, not that far. It takes a lot to scare me in the kitchen.

But first, the literature:

As I mentioned before, I highly recommend this cookbook. You can read all about exactly what I think is so awesome about it here. P.S. Bittman even offers a “meatier” edition if you prefer a fleshier diet.

If you have an unwaivering love of trees, you can now buy the How To Cook Everything app on your iPhone – OR if you’re a smug buttface like Brian Norris, your iPhone and iPad. Pssht. (Hey Steve, can I get an iPad?)

Update: He said “No.”

So, with my morning coffee in hand, I perused the pages for recipes, using the Index to search for certain ingredients and flavors. In the end, we put two recipes together to create a power dish: Black Bean Quesadillas with Tomatillo Salsa.

Tomatillos are green (pictured above), dense, and very sweet. They provide the perfect balance to the moderately spicy poblano peppers, scallions, and garlic. I wasn’t even sure the grocery store would have them (I brought a back up idea just in case), but they did. Wegmans’, I try to get away from you. You’re often times full of disorganized groups of snarky people all reaching for the same things, but you have the most delicious olive bar – and weird shit like tomatillos. I just can’t quit you.

We decided that this maybe should have been our dinner on St. Patrick’s Day with all the green going on, but quickly reminded ourselves: peanut butter and jelly on Irish Soda Bread was absolute perfection.

Delicious. Delicioso.

Hasta luego,

Brit

3 thoughts on “Black Bean Quesadilla with Tomatillo Salsa

  1. Pingback: Plantains: Two Ways | washthedog

  2. Pingback: Salsa: Three Ways | washthedog

Now let's discuss...

