Plantains: Two Ways

I couldn’t wait any longer. As I mentioned, I’ve been seriously craving the plantains. Technically you should can wait until they are on the blacker side, but I had a little birdie on my shoulder comparing them to the ripeness of bananas – so they looked ready to me!

Plantains are a tougher, less sweet banana that can be steamed, fried, grilled, and even baked (who knew!?). And since I had more than enough, I decided to prepare them two different ways.

(The directions below are for one plantain each.)

First up: Savory. 

Cut the plantain into half-inch thick slices. Place the slices into a sauté pan on medium heat in about 3-4 tablespoons of warm canola oil. Once golden brown on each side (about 15 minutes), put the slices on a paper towel-lined plate to drain. Sprinkle with salt and serve with lime and sour cream.

This is the version I dream up when plantains come to mind. It was also my favorite of the two.

Next up: Sweet.

Steve preferred this version. I suspect it had something to do with the butter…?

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut off the ends of the plantain and then slice it in half down the middle, long ways. Cut a few slits into each one. Sprinkle a mix of brown sugar and cinnamon (1/8 cup sugar and 1/8 tsp. cinnamon) over the top. Dabble two tablespoons of butter on the spice mix and bake for 20-25 minutes. I did 20 minutes but in hindsight that plantain was a big sucker. I probably should have given it some more time.

I don’t like ice cream but I’d destroy some if it was smothered over that right there. Mhmm I sure would. I’d bet money you would too.

Eventually I’m going to pair the savory plantains with these.

Well, that concludes our Mexican theme at the Kern-Galloway house, but I’m sure we’ll revisit it very soon.

Back into the Hellmouth I go!

-Brit

4 thoughts on “Plantains: Two Ways

  1. I love sweet plantains! One time when my neighbors were over for dinner I was making them and they suggested sautéing brown sugar, butter and whiskey (or rum?) with plantains and serve it with ice cream. OH MY GOSH. It was amazing!

    I’ve never baked it before, though, but it sounds super easy and a fast clean up!

  2. (I don’t think this posted before, if so, sorry for the double comment!)

    I love sweet plantains! One time when my neighbors were over for dinner I was making them and they suggested sautéing brown sugar, butter and whiskey (or rum?) with plantains and serve it with ice cream. OH MY GOSH. It was amazing!

    I’ve never baked it before, though, but it sounds super easy and a fast clean up!

Now let's discuss...

