Kale is the new black.

Kale is one of those healthy ‘superfoods” (along with quinoa and acai) that hit it big in 2011 with the rich white people demographic. As I understand it, the harder it is to pronounce, the more it will probably cost you.

But yea, it’s been all about the kale recently. Raw kale salads, blanched kale, kale smoothies…

And roasted kale chips. Now, kale chips I can work with.

I went to a baby shower this weekend that offered kale chips on the buffet. My mom and I basically hovered over the plate like crazies, doing out best, “These are so good! Kale? Really? Tell us more…” It was a tipping point for me and I bought myself a bundle of the bitter greens the very next day.

Step 1: De-stem one bunch of kale and cut into large peices

Step 2: Toss with salt, pepper, garlic powder and 1 tablespoon of olive oil

Step 3: Roast on sheet pan at 275 degrees for about 30 minutes or until crispy

NOM.

I was skeptical at first. Now I’m doing my best “choo choo” on the Kale Train listening to my Dave Matthews Band records and watching the entire first season of Fraiser. Just kidding. I dislike both of those things immensely. But kale chips? Kale chips I like.

P.S. Every time I hear the word kale I think of General Kael from the movie Willow. Tall and evil with the scary skull mask? I bet absolutely zero people will get that reference. And that saddens me greatly.

Here’s an idea—> Maybe you should go watch it right now with some kale chips.

-Brit, “General Kael’s #1 Fan 1 fan”

One thought on “Kale is the new black.

Now let's discuss...

