Macaroni & Cheese with Cottage Cheese

A friend and I recently discussed the challenges of ‘cooking for one.’ I recalled those few years when I lived solo and almost never cooked elaborate meals, or meals in general, for myself. Instead, I spent many-a-night with a lot of wine, books on CD, and frozen Amy’s lasagnas (which by the way are delicious). I didn’t have Internet or cable TV in those days either. It was a weird time.

We ultimately concluded that cooking for one often leads to a lot of leftovers. And what I want to tell you right now is that cooking macaroni and cheese for two pretty much ends the same exact way.

Like if the zombies come tomorrow I would feed them for weeks with noodles and cheddar.

Ha! Just kidding. I’d eat that shit myself and pick them off sniper-style from the upstairs window like Andrea. GAH WHEN IS THE WALKING DEAD COMING BACK ON? THIS IS THE WORST.

Ahem, sorry about that. It’s just been a really hard couple of weeks.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Cottage Cheese:

I’m a sucker for baked pasta so I used a recipe from Smitten Kitchen and just changed out the pasta (to shells) and added breadcrumbs (for some added crunch) to the top. I mean, it’s macaroni and cheese – we’ve all made it. What I liked about this particular recipe was that it included cottage cheese. New and snazzy.

P.S. I also warmed a can of whole tomatoes on the stove top to put over the macaroni. My mom always made “stewed tomatoes” to eat with macaroni and cheese, and I’ll never ever make it any other way. It adds an acidity to what is a super rich, cheese-heavy dish without them. Does anyone else do this? I’m curious.

-Brit

Now let's discuss...

