Aww, nuts!

For me, watching baseball is like getting my hair braided island-style by a 9-year-old wrestler: Painful and yet still very boring. And this is coming from someone who enjoys watching televised golf tournaments.

However, there was once a time that I enjoyed myself a kosher hot dog and some chemical laden stadium nachos while I took in a live action baseball game with friends. For the record, they are far superior to the televised version of the sport.

When I found this Bittman recipe it reminded me of those days.

Let me first tell you a little bit about these nuts: They are chewy, sweet, salty, and spicy – all at the same time. This is the kind of snack you blindly reach for (careful, they can be a bit sticky) at a party until you’re sick and have to leave early.

Caramelized Indian Spiced Nuts or what I like to call, Indian Baseball Nuts:

Step 1: Bring 2 cups sugar and 2 cups water to a boil in a large skillet or saucepan

Step 2: Add 2 cups unsalted nut mix and stir (I just rinsed my salted nuts in water – Hey, Frederick! What’s with everything being salted!? Cool it.)

Step 3: Add 2 teaspoons Garam Masala spice blend (I happen to have enough for the apocalypse so if you need some, come see me…) and stir regularly until liquid is reduced to a light syrup

Step 4: Pour nuts onto oiled sheet pan and cook in 450 degree oven for about 10 minutes

And hey braniac, let them cool before you go and burn your face off, k thanks.

I’m absolutely nuts for this recipe.

Ba dum cha.

I had to. I’m hardwired this way.

Happy Opening Day. The Orioles did win the World Series the weekend I was born, after all.

– Brit, “A Hard Nut to Crack”

One thought on “Aww, nuts!

  1. Pingback: Lemon. Ricotta. Pancakes. | washthedog

Now let's discuss...

