Pancake Sunday: Blueberry Edition

Like I said, pancakes on Sunday are becoming a bit of a tradition around here. And thank goodness for that.

The difference between everyday pancakes and light, fluffy pancakes is, in my humble opinion, egg whites. Whipped into stiff peaks, egg whites can make or break a cake. Look at that, I did a rhyme.

I’ve even included a recipe so now you too can have Pancake Sundays. Or even Pancake Tuesdays, should you be inspired…

THE GOODS:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 eggs (separated)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • dash of salt

I’m partial to pancakes on the flat-top cast iron griddle, but I’m even more partial to using what you got. So whatever it is, heat it up to about medium heat.

  1. Beat egg yolks and milk together
  2. Mix all dry ingredients together
  3. Whip egg whites with an electric mixer until you get stiff peaks
  4. Combine dry ingredients and milk/egg yolk mixture together until blended (no lumps!)
  5. Add blueberries (or whatever fruit you fancy, really)
  6. Gently fold in egg whites

Spoon heaping (heaping, people!) tablespoons onto the buttered griddle top. Flip when the bottom is lightly browned.

Fluffy, yes? I know, dude. I know.

Step 7. Bring me some.

I love pancakes.

One thought on “Pancake Sunday: Blueberry Edition

  1. Pingback: Instagramification: The Weekend, Avenged | washthedog

Now let's discuss...

