Fear Is The Mind Killer

I’ve been thinking a lot about fear lately (it’s been that kind of week). How much it holds us back, dictates our actions and choices. When you’re a kid, you’re scared of monsters and getting bad grades. Suddenly, as adults, our true fears reside in retirement plans, promotions, and the cure for cancer.

Or if you’re me, right now, in this very moment, it’s posting YouTube videos of yourself playing the ukulele on your personal blog.

And let me just tell you that starting this blog was really scary in itself. It’s intimate and completely open to criticism (both of which I admittedly struggle with from time to time). Originally, I wanted a place to post my own pictures and stories without the guilt of cramping your oh-so-important Facebook news feeds, but it has evolved into quite a rewarding space for me. People were really hating on food/baby/dogs pics on Facebook there for a while, am I right? I took it personally.

So, the moral of the story here is that diving into the blogosphere head-first has been a really amazing experience thus far, one that in the end I’m glad I didn’t over-think.

Because if I’d known for one second that I would post a video of myself playing the ukulele, I never would have gone through with this blog.

I know it’s not great, but it’s a start. [I’ve had the ukulele one week today, as a matter of fact]

The surprising part has been realizing how much I missed learning to play an instrument. My mom was like some sort of musical Tiger Mom in the 90s, and I think it had a lasting impact on me or something.

That being said, I think if I practice that song one more time, Steve will call off the wedding.

– Brit, makes you happy when skies are gray

[Props to P. Hassett for the ukulele tuning]

Now let's discuss...

