Stir-Fry with Rice Noodles

To say we eat a lot of Thai carry-out would be an understatement, and a potential calamity should we move closer to our dealer, Sumittra Thai Cuisine. But, keeping it real, take-out isn’t always convenient or healthy.

Much to my disappointment/pleasure, I find a lot of of Asian restaurants use far too much oil.  So whenever I attempt to re-create a dish I’ve enjoyed, I find my version a little…dry.

[Recreations have included Salt & Pepper Tofu and Lemongrass & Chili Tofu – both from Lucky Corner Vietnamese Restaurant and highly recommended.]

But with a little tweaking (and noodles, lots of noodles), not only can stir-fry satisfy the pallet, it can also be quite healthy.

Let me first tell you how absolutely thrilled I am with rice noodles. Cooking starches in general scares me. I’m always afraid of overcooking them into a textureless mush. First World Problems all up in my kitchen.

You will need:

  • 2 tablespoons fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 pack rice noodles
  • 1-2 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, slices
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 carrots sliced thinly
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped or sliced
  • 1 tablespoon thai chili garlic sauce

Now,

  1. Boil water for rice noodles and follow package instructions (don’t prepare the noodles too soon – you will want to transfer them immediately to the stir-fry).
  2. Heat sesame oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions, broccoli, carrots, and ginger.
  3. After 3 minutes, add garlic and sliced pepper. Stir regularly.
  4. Add soy sauce and thai garlic sauce (as much as you want really, I won’t judge).
  5. Finally add cooked rice noodles and toss to combine.
  6. Serve immediately (with a giant glass of milk if you know what’s good for you).

You can also:

  • add tofu (Do this at the beginning on medium high heat)
  • add Thai basil (I didn’t have any, but I love it)
  • Garnish with lime (because you. will. need. it.)

Maybe it was how the noodles didn’t soak up all the sauce and oil like rice can often do that completely transformed the texture, but it was really, really good.

I even packed the leftovers for lunch the next day. And then left my lunchbox on the kitchen table.

Sigh. 

Now let's discuss...

