Instagramification: Homesick

I’ve been in Houston since Tuesday afternoon. I have enjoyed 0 sun, 3 apocalyptic work-related meltdowns, 2 mango margaritas, and 1 melon and mint mojito. In short, I’m breaking even.

I’ve been documenting little bits and pieces throughout my stay here in Houston, but these gems are from the days before I left.

And the first block is completely food-related.

  1. There is something about the shape of a pasta that sometimes makes it especially appealing. This would be one of those times.
  2. We got a lemonade. He got two straws. He is 11 and no longer into sharing germs with me. *Tear.
  3. For the small fortune of $11-$15, you too can enjoy the Whole Foods salad bar for lunch. Whatever, it’s worth it.
  4. Plantains made the right way, with a side of sour cream.
  5. Illy iced coffee with a side of insulin.
  6. Bucatini pasta is probably my favorite kind of pasta. It’s essentially fat spaghetti with a hole in the middle. I call it “Hotel Pasta” because I only ever seem to see it when I travel, but alas, I found it at Juliet’s Italian Market downtown. See #9 for the perfect application.
  7. Illy iced coffee, without a side of insulin.
  8. Plantain Chips (1 plantain sliced very thin): 450 degrees, toss with olive oil, cinnamon, and a little nutmeg. Bake 10 minutes, flip. Bake another 10 minutes.
  9. Garlicky pasta with broccoli rabe.
  1. I got my eye on that concert uke right there. I set a goal for myself to learn two more songs before I can buy it.
  2. Girl’s Day: Nails, lunch, shopping, and drinks. “Nails” is why we are holding (me specifically) our hands as such, in case you were confused.
  3. See that guy behind Steve? See that knife? We hate that guy. I’m surprised you can’t hear his loud stupid mouth through the picture.
  4. Washburn.
  5. Washburne.
  6. My mama got me this little number. I like to send her pictures of me draped in all the things she buys me. It makes us both happy. Being the only daughter suits me.
  7. More awkward hands with beautiful nails.
  8. Let’s just get this out of the way: Yes, I sleep with a stuffed animal. His name is Pita the Cheetah. But more importantly, how cute is my dog?
  9. Hey, it can get sunny on the metro…

I’m a touch homesick, but this has been fun – and even a little bit helpful.

Brit

Now let's discuss...

